Gratitude

kevin-carter-vulture

You know how they say a picture is worth a thousand words? This is one of those pictures. If this picture doesn’t break your heart into a million pieces then there is something seriously wrong with your morals. Looking at this picture, I reflected on all the selfish things I do everyday. Everday I take for granted some of the simplest yet most important aspects of everday life.

Everyday I wonder who I am going to sit with at lunch rather than being grateful I even have food to eat during that meal. Everyday I sit in the classroom wondering why the lights are so bright rather than being thankful for the electricity in that building. Everyday I argue with my mom over petty things instead of appreciating the unfailing love she has always showered me with. Everyday I throw away half drunk water bottles without thinking twice about all the people in the world who can’t even drink water because it’s not safe.

Sometimes it’s hard to appreciate what’s right infront of us. Trust me, I know the feeling. But everything we have could be one more thing than someone else could have. And also vice versa, someone is always going to have more than us. Greed is a never ending battle, but sometimes all it takes is a simple picture to bring us back down to earth.

Standard

Leave a comment